mynamesarePromise&Peace


I love Dr. James Dobson! because…

james-dobson-2

Even though, Focus on the Family‘s Dr. James Dobson’s “Letter from 2012 in Obama’s America“, in which he make some rather disparaging speculations about (at that time) Obama’s potential presidency, angered me beyond all belief and broke my heart (and his picture brings up bad feelings in me), I have decided not to attack him for the following reason:

  • Jesus said, “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another” (John 13v34-35 TNIV).

Everything inside of me wants to “get ’em,” but I feel that as Christian brothers and sisters we need to stop arguing about what we disagree about and start moving forward by celebrating what we agree on – mainly, the resurrected Jesus (let’s at least start there). 

If we are going to move forward, let’s bind ourselves by that command in John’s gospel. Let’s offer the world an alternative to its ways of dealing with division, that is, more division; evil with more evil. Let’s deal with division with love. Let’s overcome evil with good.

 

So, James, I doubt you read this blog, but I love you. I don’t love your politics. I don’t love your tactics, but I love you because I realize you, like me, believe in the resurrected Jesus and his transforming power for this broken world. May our Lord Jesus Christ bless you and keep you.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Ironically it’s like how he describes loving gay people – Loving the sinner but hating the sin.

It’s the caricature he represents that annoys me but I agree that to be faithful to the Gospel, we must show love at all moments even these. True words Evan.

Comment by Tim

Not sure that I had the same self-restraint.

http://www.chuckp3.com/2008/10/an-open-letter-to-james-dobson/

I hope that this came out of a loving place… but I’m not entirely convinced of my own motives.

Comment by clyonspardue




Leave a Reply

