mynamesarePromise&Peace


We Did It! Phillies 2008 World Series Champions!

 

I can’t believe it! The Phillies are World Series champions!

 

You have to understand. I’m 23 years old, and I’ve never experienced this before. 

 

I didn’t know what to do with myself when Lidge struck out the last batter. So here’s what I did:

 

  1. Kissed Amanda (my best friend, wife, and companion, whose been to a bunch of Phillies games with me and sat through plenty more. She’s the best!)
  2. My brothers and our friend Jordan ran outside like a maniacs
  3. Phil and I smashed pumpkins in the middle of the street
  4. We ran around the block with pots and pans clanging and hitting Stop signs with them
  5. Phil, Jon, Aaron, and Jordan took off their shirts and ran around the block
  6. We shot off fireworks. The good kind like the ones at the 4th of July.
  7. We set off our car alarms
  8. We hooted and hollered as loud as we could
  9. Phil, Jordan, and Jon took their bikes to Five Points (Rising Sun and Cottman)
  10. Aaron and I drove – beeping the whole way!
  11. We got to Five Points and hugged random people
  12. Started chants like “Let’s Go Phillies!” “Lights out Lidge!” “Charlie!”
  13. We sang “We are the Champions”
  14. Met friends at Five Points and hugged and shouted
  15. Jumped up and down
  16. Watched a guy climb to the top of a billboard on a building
  17. People sprayed champagne
  18. Music was blasting from a nearby restaurant
  19. high-fived a random people
  20. “Nah, nah, nah, nah…nah, nah, nah, nah…hey, hey, hey…good-bye…”
  21. Took a bunch of pictures
  22. Lost our voices
  23. Phil’s bike got stolen but we didn’t care
  24. Went back home
  25. Kissed Giselle
  26. Shot off more fireworks!
  27. Watched people on the news riot in the streets around the city 
  28. Kissed my mom (the biggest Phillies fan!)

 

 

 

What did you do to celebrate? Comment below.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Well Evan, you don’t know me but I do attend Bethel when I am home in Philly on weekends (have a place at the jersey shore)….I just wanted to tell you that I loved reading your blog.

I was in the 7th grade when the Flyers won the Stanley Cup – my first taste of being a fan for a REAL winning team. Trust me, it never gets old…you never get tired of screaming “We’re Number One” …or of the parades! In fact, it seems our city and we fans are…well…with that parade…I’d say we just keep getting better at celebrating!

I must admit, when I saw your blog I just had to read…Curiousity got the best of me…I wanted to “feel” the emotions of victory from a “Newbies” point-of-view. This may be selfish but I don’t want the excitement to fade to quickly and you are helping it linger.

Your blog reads at the end “Leave a comment”…Well, my comment is: You celebrated perfectly! Everything you did from kissing your wife, to banging pots and pans, to not worrying about a stupid bike…PERFECT!!!!!!
And you know what? My mom was also a HUGE Phillies Fan. She is with Jesus now but she got me the most awesome view of the 2008 Parade. I was at broad and locust sts right at the police barrier. I watch the parade with two of “Philadelphia Finest” Ofr. Hoppe and Ofr. Sacks…There was no getting any closer than that!

So…hold onto all those unbelievable memories you have of this weeks win and celebration. You party’d with perfection and I can’t wait to read what you do next year??? now that you are seasoned 🙂 🙂

Hey…WHO WON ????? WE WON !!!!!!!!

Comment by Annie~m




Leave a Reply

