mynamesarePromise&Peace


Why Every Christian Should Read Jesus for President – III.1

I recently read a post by my friend Tim Ghali about a seminar he attended with guest speaker David Kinnaman, author of unChristian: What a New Generation Really Thinks about Christianity…and Why It Matters. I thought it went well with my post “Why Every Christian Should Read Jesus for President – III” so I wanted to add a reference to Tim’s post so I created “Why Every Christian Should Read Jesus for President – III.1“. The original post is below and speaks about Christian leaders endorsing certain politicians. This is not Tim’s direct point, but I think it drives home some of the issues I have been presenting with the way the Americans (mainly, 16-29 year olds) view Christians. 

I wish I could say the world incorrectly viewed us as “cannibals” like ancient people did because of early Christians eating the “body” and drinking the “blood” of Christ. I wish I could say they viewed as “My, how they love one another.” But apparently, that’s not what people are saying. So, please read my below post, and please read Tim’s. 

 

“Then all the elders of Israel gathered together and came to Samuel at Ramah, and said to him, “…appoint for us, then, a king to govern us, like other nations”…and the Lord said to Samuel, “Listen to the voice of the people in all that they say to you; for they have not rejected you, but they have rejected me from being king over them” (1 Samuel 8v4-7 NRSV). 

 

During my high school years, I became increasingly aware of the “pastoral political endorsement” as I like to call it. Pastors would get on stage and endorse a particular candidate or political party. It didn’t always come by bringing in the actual candidate, but it was more of “We must vote for this individual to promote such and such ‘Christian’ issues” (see past posts), or “If __________ is elected, abortions will go up, and (literally, this happened to me…) the end of the world will come.” This doesn’t just happen with fundamentalists. It happens with liberal pastors, as well, and all others in-between.

 

I don’t mind pastors being politically involved, but I’m afraid that “if my pastor says it, that must be who God wants too” will take place. Plus, many non-Christians believe churches are too politically involved. In a sense, they’re saying, “I don’t want to come to church to hear who I should vote for. I’m trying to find God here.”

 

I believe that God’s heart still breaks when his people promote a “king” to rule us, and, in a sense, we reject him. Many of us promoted Bush, and many of us promoted Carter. I’ve seen many embrace McCain, and I’ve seen others endorse Obama. As pastors, we must lead people to the true King – that is, Jesus Christ. He is King of Kings and Lord of Lords, and this shouldn’t be taken lightly. (Hint: read Jesus for President)

 

I’m not saying “don’t vote.” I’m not saying, “You can’t have opinions.” I am saying, let’s be careful.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

