mynamesarePromise&Peace


What’s Cookin’? 105

Highlight(s) of the week: (1) The Phillies are NL Champs and are in the World Series! Go Phillies! (2) The Red Sox didn’t make it. I’m very happy about that, not for matchup-sake but because I’m tired of “the nation.” (3) Amanda, Giselle, and I spent the weekend in Lancaster with my family. It was very nice to get away for a little while. (3) New addition to the Green-side of the family: Liam Joseph Fleming was born on Friday. He’s huge – almost as long as Giselle is now at 6 months.

Book(s) I’m reading: still reading Jesus for President by Shane Claiborne and Chris Haw and now reading The Historical Books by Richard D. Nelson (for class – but talk about a book that is almost everything against what I’ve learned growing up or even believe now – but it’s still a good read. I don’t recommend it for those who are the faint of heart, but I do recommend thus far for those who are into ‘scholarly pursuits.’)

Listenin’ and lovin’: Listen to Mars Hills podcasts every week; APM: Speaking of Faith with Krista Tippett – most recently I listened to one that discussed religion in the Democratic party. I will be listening this week to her one on religion in the Republican party, too, but which is normally assumed by many. I recommend Speaking of Faith to get a broad range of thought on religion; also have been enjoying Relevant Magazine’s podcast. It is a weekly podcast with a few people having a good time together and also getting serious at times. It’s very good. Music-wise: I have to say I keep listening to Viva la Vida for whatever reason that only addiction may explain. Also I recently listened to Phil Wickham’s Cannon, and Fear Before the March of Flames’ Always Open Mouth (again, not for the faint of heart).

Something(s) that blew my mind: (1) I taught Jr. Church (1-5th graders) on Sunday morning, and they were respectful. It shows what a few rules will do to hold it together. (2) I posted three things about politics on my blog, which I swore I wouldn’t do so I named the category “Politics (Eww…)” to express my dislike for the subject, but I find it unavoidable around every four-year cycle. (3) Colin Powell is going to vote for Obama – very interesting – I hope this grows into something that will bridge the gap between Republicans and Democrats.

Ministry update: last night we presented to the whole church our New Orleans missions trip from this past summer. We had a video – it was cool – thanks, Jorge! Dan and Tyler who presented the impact the trip had on their lives did exceptionally well. 

Seminary update: reading like crazy for our class on the historical books of the Old Testament with Gary Schnittjer

Looking forward to: (1) game 1 of the World Series; (2) UnderOath and The Devil Wears Prada show on October 22; (3) Giselle will be 6 months tomorrow – wow!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yes, I thought the same thing regarding Nelson’s Historical Books.
I too love the relevant podcast. I’ve broken out laughing in the gym listening to their antics. I’m behind a few Mars Hill podcasts. I’m wrecking the listening in community.

Comment by Tim




Leave a Reply

