mynamesarePromise&Peace


Why every Christian should read “Jesus for President”

Seriously. Everyone should.

I swore I’d never write about politics on here. I’ve really come to despise politics. And I really like the book Jesus for President by Shane Claiborne and Chris Haw, but that’s actually not the point here. Thom Turner pointed out this photo to me…

 

…and I was pretty upset. 

 

Why was I upset? 

 

Well, I mean I’m against anyone who murders babies, but…

First, I’m upset because this is degrading to Obama (which I assume is who this man is against). He isn’t Muslim. He’s been Christian for at least 20 years. He isn’t for all abortion – he’s particularly against partial-birth abortion. Second, Christians pledge allegiance to Jesus Christ our Lord. We do not pledge allegiance to any particular candidate – McCain, Obama, Ron Paul, or Mickey Mouse. I’m not for or against Obama. I’m not for or against McCain. I’m for Jesus Christ. Third, I highly doubt that all Ohio Christians are against Obama so…yeah.

Fourth, what happened to love? Are we loving people by lying (yes, if I’m being honest, it is lying) about other people? [Please check out other false rumors that have been started about Obama and proven incorrect here (supportive of Obama, but I think for the most part it’s fair) such as his views on abortion, raising taxes, and involvement with Islam.] 

 

Dear America, Dear World

This is not my Jesus. My Jesus does not make false claims about reality. My Jesus does not support one candidate. My Jesus does not fit into one party. However…

 

My Jesus does claim to be King. My Jesus does claim to be the Son of God. My Jesus does claim to be greater than Caesar. My Jesus does have all authority on heaven and earth. 

[In fact, I think if Jesus ran for President, people (wherever they fall on the political spectrum) would want to crucify him again. For all I know, I may be one of those in the crowd though I sure hope not. People still don’t like to hear what he has to say (I mean, that’s why we spiritualize a lot of his sayings, right?).] 

 

Remember: Ohio Christians, “my kingdom is not of this world…my kingdom is from another place” (John 18v36). If that is true, let’s stop looking for the hope of the world in any candidate (even Obama said that America is the last great hope of the world). Let’s instead give our full allegiance to Jesus Christ alone and love others as we love ourselves. In other words, let’s believe the creed of Jesus, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind; and, Love your neighbor as yourself” (Luke 10v27). America, politicians, presidents, the United Nations, capitalism, communism, or any other human-created system is not our savior. That title belongs only to Jesus Christ.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well said, sir.

Comment by Josh Benner

Agreed.
What does the responsible Christ-following, eternal Kingdom-minded, temporary earthly-bound, American citizen do when he/she does not want either candidate to represent him?
Not voting has never been appealing to me in the past. Nor does writing in “Jesus” (although I can see how some feel it’s a beautiful pious statement) or some other name seem to be a right response.
A lot more to say on this – good post though.

Comment by Tim




Leave a Reply

