mynamesarePromise&Peace


What’s Cookin’? 103

Highlight(s) of the week: (1) Amanda survived her first week teaching. I’m very proud of her. (2) The Phillies made it to the NLCS! (3) See ministry update

Book(s) I’m reading: Jesus for President by Shane Claiborne and Chris Haw

Music I’m diggin’: Coldplay’s Viva La Vida; Underoath’s Lost in the Sound of Separation

Something(s) that blew my mind: (1) the Eagles still don’t know how to score a touchdown when near the goal-line; (2) that people could be so offended by things Shane Claiborne has to say; (3) Bethel’s youth worship band was excellent – much better than when I was there…hahaha 

Ministry update: High School’s “Redeem, Restore” retreat to Philadelphia was not only fun but was also a great time of growth for us. (a) scavenger hunt in downtown Philadelphia – 15th & Market, down to 2nd & Chestnut, and to Chinatown; (b) assisted the Sunday Morning Breakfast Rescue Mission and heard some great stories; (c) able to see our good friends from Montvale Church; (d) heard Shane Claiborne give a talk at Bethel – the Church at Franklin Mills; (e) We (I) got to visit The Well church for the first time; (f) cheesesteaks at Steve’s Prince of Steaks; (g) slept on Bethel’s floors for the whole weekend

Seminary update: finishing up my class Developing Relationships in Community tomorrow so I’m excited to start a new class next week with Dr. Gary Schnittjer which covers Joshua-Chronicles 

Looking forward to: (1) my dad and I being a part of John Franke’s induction into the the role of Chairman of Missional Theology at Biblical Seminary – Scot McKnight and Brian McLaren will each speak for a session; (2) meeting a my new nephew who is coming sometime soon, we hope

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am looking forward to this Friday and hearing all the great speakers. Make sure you come out to the Emergent Mid-Atlantic Conference on November 8th as well.

Comment by Thom

Thom from Everyday Liturgy? I’m not worthy to read your comments…hahaha…

I hope to attend the Emergent Conference since it is at Trinity in Rittenhouse Square and since Tim has been indoctrinating me.

See you Friday.

Comment by evancurry

[…] October 7, 2008 High School “Redeem, Restore” Retreat Posted by evancurry under Event, Missions | Tags: Bethel – the church at Franklin Mills, cheesesteaks, high school retreat, Montvale Evangelical Free Church, philadelphia, scavenger hunt, Shane Claiborne, Sunday Morning Breakfast Rescue Mission, The Well |   (This made my ministry update from my “What’s Cookin’?” weekly update on my blog, which you can check out here.) […]

Pingback by High School “Redeem, Restore” Retreat « gvYouth

Our lives have been pretty intertwined as of late.

Yes, We also had a great time on our service project weekend – glad we joined up with each other.

Yes, I also still love the Viva La Vida – just listened to it again today.

Yes, i also am finishing up Developing Relationships in Community and looking forward to Dr. Schnittjer’s Conquest to Christ (you too? no friggin way – yeah C-10! That was my lame voice.)

((Back to my serious blogging voice) – Yes, i also cannot wait til friday’s Franke installation.

Comment by Tim




Leave a Reply

