mynamesarePromise&Peace


He just does [period]
June 12, 2008, 7:20 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

“See what love the Father has given us, that we should be called children of God; and that is what we are” (1 John 3:1a NRSV).

I never understood the God (Father)-Me (Child) relationship that much–or at least, now I realize that I didn’t know much about it at all. It wasn’t until I, myself, became a father that I began to realize the type of relationship God has with me. [I know Fathers’ Day is coming up so I suppose this is more fitting].

I naturally love my daughter, Elle.

It’s not that I don’t love my wife, mom, dad, or brothers. I do. But it’s just that I naturally love Elle. In all my other relationships, I had to learn to love the people I mentioned prior. For instance, I didn’t just love my wife the first time when I met her in high school. As we began dating, I learned to love her over time, but I didn’t naturally love her. But I naturally love Elle.

This “natural” love (as I have called it) is a completely different feeling. It’s like nothing I have ever felt. Imagine – all of your joyful emotions coming up from within you, sticking in your throat, and, at that point, not knowing what to do with them (should you cry for joy? should you shout it on the rooftops? should you sit quietly and soak it in?). That’s partially what it’s like.

I suppose that’s how God feels about us (I refrain from speaking of just “me” for fear of being too individualistic). He just naturally loves us. We didn’t do anything to deserve it (Elle didn’t do anything to deserve my love). He just does. Isn’t that a wonderful feeling? He just does. How many – he/she just does’s – do we have in this life? Few, if any.

This Fathers’ Day – think about it…God naturally loves you, all of us. He just does [period] There is nothing else about it. His ‘He just does’ isn’t limited to what religion you are. God just loves you. Perhaps, you don’t have a father who ‘he just does’ loves you. Maybe you do. But God’s ‘He just does’ love transcends all our human relationships. He takes us, places us on his lap, holds us in his arms, and tells us, “I love you. I just do.” Imagine – all of our joyful emotions coming up from within us, sticking in our throats, and, at that point, we don’t know what to do with them (should we cry for joy? should we shout it on the rooftops? should we sit quietly and soak it in?)…but…if we, his children, stop there, we might explode. So, we have to raise our hands in the air and praise him. That’s how we feel because God naturally loves us…his ‘He just does’ love.

Yeah, I’m pretty sure that’s what it’s like.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Personally, I spend too much time worrying. I think that if I really believed that God loved me, I would trust him for my future. Sometimes I think like an agnostic, acting like I am on my own and that life is really out of control.
Your video on suffering shows that this is a common trend of thought. I recently learned that the son of a famous Christian author now believes that God created the universe and lets it spin on its own.
Somedays, I myself wonder this, too. Did God put the earth in Adam’s hands and let us humans run it? Is God sovereign, but has he delegated this job to us? Does that explain suffering? A job blown by man?
I don’t know why there is suffering. Once in a while I see God’s intervention, but most times it looks like he lets cause and effect occur according to his universal laws.
What I realize, is that if He did not excerise control, there is no way that we would be alive today. The earth has too many risks, and the planet looks in peril.
My personal theology believes that God is in ultimate control, and that his ways are higher than mine. I don’t get it. I don’t know why things often look bleak. God has a plan. Man does get to manage earth, but God limits our ability to screw up his creation. And sometimes, just sometimes, He intervenes when we need it most.

Comment by yrrucnave




Leave a Reply

